Healthy Diet – Part 3

Gesund durch Ernährung

We take a lot of medications and are still sick.  The Nutritional Docs Anne Fleck, Matthias Riedl and Jörn Klasen say diet can be a chance to become and stay healthy. Food = medicine.  The third part of an interesting TV documentary in German TV showed three more examples. So here’s a brief summary.

  • Extreme obesity
  • Migraine
  • Rheumatism

The NDR homepage http://www.ndr.de/fernsehen/sendungen/die-ernaehrungsdocs/index.html  provides plenty of easily understandable background information, videos, tips and recipes – unfortunately only in German.

Extreme obesity

Lack of exercise, poor diet, psychological problems, hormonal imbalances or genetic factors – the number of overweight people is more and more increasing in industrialized nations.  A Body Mass Index (BMI) over 30 is considered to be overweight.  Exception:  People who have a lot of muscle mass. Obesity is a major risk factor for high blood pressure, heart attack, stroke, diabetes, joint disease and even cancer. For people with extreme obesity often only remains sleeve gastrectomy.  But this should be the last resort.  There need to be other possibilities.  For example a formula diet described by the doctor. This diet is low in carbohydrates and high in protein to prevent muscle breakdown.

Therapy:

  • Proper diet: vegetables, legumes, low-carb, lean meats and fish
  • high protein diet
  • Exercise!

Additional Information:

 

Migraine

Raging, throbbing, stabbing headaches that occur in attacks often accompanied by nausea, sensitivity to light and noise – this is migraine.  Triggers for migraines are often stress, weather, hormonal disorders, and even certain foods, such as sugar, flavour enhancers, preservatives.  It is important to have a regular schedule of meals.

Therapy:

  • Diet
  • Lifestyle change
  • Endurance sports!
  • muscle relaxation
  • acupuncture

Additional Information:

 

Rheumatism

Joint pain, morning stiffness, muscle tearing are part of everyday life:  rheumatism is a widespread disease. About 400 different diseases are summarized under the term rheumatism: these include gout, lupus, and most commonly rheumatoid arthritis.  The causes are still not fully resolved; but it is ensured that it is an autoimmune disease.

Therapy:

  • Special anti-inflammatory diet
  • little meat
  • Omega-3 fatty acids found in oily fish
  • linseed oil
  • Green smoothies with green leafy vegetables
  • Exercise,  physiotherapy

Additional Information:

 

Warning: Disclaimer and common hint on medical subjects.

Healthy Diet – Part 2

Gemüsebratlinge

Swallowing many pills and being sick anyway, that’s not necessary. Take the chance to become and stay healthy by nutrition.  This is not a utopia.  The second part of an interesting TV documentary in German TV showed three more examples. So here’s a brief summary.

  • Fatty liver
  • Hypertension
  • Multiple sclerosis

The NDR homepage http://www.ndr.de/fernsehen/sendungen/die-ernaehrungsdocs/index.html  provides you with plenty of easily understandable background information, videos, tips and recipes – unfortunately only in German.

Healthy Diet – Part 1

 

Hypertension

Hypertension is a common disease in industrialized countries.  More than one in four adults in Germany has too high blood pressure, many without knowing it.  High blood pressure often causes hardly any discomfort, but is extremely dangerous: fat deposition in the arteries, thrombosis, myocardial infarction and stroke may result.  Often caused by overweight, lack of exercise, alcohol, smoking and poor diet, but also job-related or personal stress.  In addition, the reason for high blood pressure may be a genetic predisposition.  Also the hormones may adversely affect the blood pressure, eg. the “pill”, pregnancy or menopause.

Therapy:

  • Proper diet: vegetables, fruits, fish, little salt. Drink plenty of water and herbal teas.
  • Exercise!
  • Weight reduction
  • Little alcohol, no cigarettes
  • Stress reduction!

Additional Information:

 

Multiple Sclerosis (MS)

Multiple sclerosis is a chronic inflammation of the nervous system.  Women are affected more often than men with MS. Often the disease is diagnosed in young adulthood.  The development of MS is not yet established.  Possible causes include a genetic predisposition and certain environmental influences.  Also a possible vitamin D deficiency and childish overweight.  MS is not curable but can be treated.

Swiss Chard
Swiss Chard

Therapy:

  • Ketogenic diet:  vegetables, high-quality oils, nuts, seeds.  Daily rich sources of protein:  meat, fish, poultry, eggs, milk fat, rich dairy products, omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Preferably no carbohydrates.
  • Physiotherapy, ergotherapy, speech therapy
  • Psychotherapy
  • Alternative methods:  acupuncture, homeopathy, anthroposophical curative methods

Additional Information:

 

 

Fatty liver

Fatty liver is a common disease.  Almost one in four adults is affected by this disease of civilization. Particularly strong overweight, diabetic, and many obese children suffer from it.  Causes are usually overweight, alcohol abuse, drugs. Due to lack of protein also lean people can be affected.  The risk of fatty liver increases during pregnancy.

Therapy:

  • Diet
  • No alcohol
  • Weight reduction
  • Possibly special protein drinks prescribed by a doctor
  • Exercise!

Additional Information:

 

Warning: Please read the disclaimer and common hint on medical subjects.

Gesund durch Ernährung – Teil 3

Gesund durch Ernährung

Wir nehmen viel Medikamente und sind trotzdem krank. Die Ernährungs-Docs Anne Fleck, Matthias Riedl und Jörn Klasen sagen mit Ernährung kann man die Chance, gesund zu werden und zu bleiben. Essen = Medizin. Im dritten Teil der interessanten Dokumentation im NDR wurden wieder drei Beispiele gezeigt, die ich hier kurz zusammenfasse.

  • Adipositas, extremes Übergewicht
  • Migräne
  • Rheuma

Auf der Homepage des NDR http://www.ndr.de/fernsehen/sendungen/die-ernaehrungsdocs/index.html findet Ihr jede Menge gut verständliche Hintergrund-Informationen, Videos, Tipps und Rezepte.

Adipositas, extremes Übergewicht

Bewegungsmangel, falsche Ernährung, psychische Probleme, Hormonstörungen oder genetische Faktoren – die Zahl der Übergewichtigen steigt in den Industrienationen immer weiter an. Ab einem Body Mass Index (BMI) von 30 gilt man als übergewichtig. Ausnahme: Menschen, die viel Muskelmasse besitzen. Übergewicht ist einer der größten Risikofaktoren für Bluthochdruck, Herzinfarkt, Schlaganfall, Diabetes, Gelenkerkrankungen und sogar Krebs. Bei extremem Übergewicht bleibt oft nur noch die Magenverkleinerung. Die sollte aber die letzte Maßnahme sein. Es muss auch eine andere Möglichkeit geben. Eine Ernährungsumstellung mit einer vom Arzt verschriebenen Formula-Diät. Diese Diät enthält wenig Kohlenhydrate und viel Eiweiß, um den Muskelabbau zu vermeiden.

Therapie:

  • Richtige Ernährung: Gemüse, Hülsenfrüchte, wenig Kohlenhydrate, mageres Fleisch und Fisch
  • Eventuell Formula-Diät
  • Sport!

Weitere Informationen:

 

Migräne

Rasende, pochende, stechende Kopfschmerzen, die anfallsartig auftreten oft begleitet von Übelkeit, Licht- und Geräuschempfindlichkeit, das ist Migräne. Auslöser für Migräne sind oft Stress, Wettereinflüsse, hormonelle Störungen, aber auch bestimmtes Essen, z. B. Zucker, Geschmacksverstärker, Konservierungsstoffe. Wichtig sind regelmäßige Mahlzeiten.

Therapie:

  • Ernährungsumstellung
  • Änderung des Lebensstils
  • Ausdauersport!
  • Muskelentspannung
  • Akupunktur

Weitere Informationen:

 

Rheuma

Gelenkschmerzen, Morgensteifigkeit, Muskelreißen prägen den Alltag: Rheuma ist eine Volkskrankheit. Rund 400 verschiedene Krankheitsbilder werden unter dem Oberbegriff Rheuma zusammengefasst: dazu zählen Gicht, Lupus, am häufigsten die rheumatoide Arthritis. Die Ursachen sind noch nicht umfassend geklärt; gesichert ist, dass es sich um eine Autoimmunerkrankung handelt.

Therapie:

  • Spezielle entzündungshemmende Ernährung
  • Wenig Fleisch
  • Omega-3-Fettsäuren in fettem Fisch
  • Leinöl
  • Grüne Smoothies mit grünem Blattgemüse
  • Bewegung, Krankengymnastik

Weitere Informationen:

 

 

Achtung: Haftungsausschluss und allgemeiner Hinweis zu medizinischen Themen.

Gesund durch Ernährung – Teil 2

Gemüsebratlinge

Viele Pillen schlucken und trotzdem krank, das muss nicht sein. Durch Ernährung die Chance nutzen, gesund zu werden und zu bleiben. Das ist keine Utopie. Im zweiten Teil der interessanten Dokumentation im NDR wurden wieder drei Beispiele gezeigt, die ich hier kurz zusammenfasse.

  • Fettleber
  • Bluthochdruck
  • Multiple Sklerose

Auf der Homepage des NDR http://www.ndr.de/fernsehen/sendungen/die-ernaehrungsdocs/index.html findet Ihr jede Menge gut verständliche Hintergrund-Informationen, Videos, Tipps und Rezepte.

Gesund durch Ernährung – Teil 1

 

Bluthochdruck

Bluthochdruck ist eine häufige Erkrankung in Industrieländern. Mehr als jeder vierte Erwachsene in Deutschland hat zu hohen Blutdruck, viele ohne es zu wissen. Zu hoher Blutdruck versucht oft kaum Beschwerden, ist oft aber dennoch gefährlich: Fettablagerung in den Arterien, Thrombosen, Herzinfarkt und Schlaganfall können die Folge sein. Ursache ist oft Übergewicht, Bewegungsmangel, Alkohol, Rauchen und falsche Ernährung, aber auch beruflicher oder privater Stress. Zudem kann eine genetische Veranlagung Grund für Bluthochdruck sein. Auch die Hormone können den Blutdruck negativ beeinflussen, z. B. die „Pille“, eine Schwangerschaft oder die Wechseljahre.

Therapie:

  • Richtige Ernährung: Gemüse, Obst, Fisch, wenig Salz. Viel Wasser und Kräutertees trinken.
  • Sport!
  • Gewichtsreduktion
  • Wenig Alkohol, keine Zigaretten
  • Stressabbau

Weitere Informationen:

 

Multiple Sklerose (MS)

Multiple Sklerose ist eine chronische Entzündung des Nervensystems. Frauen erkranken häufiger als Männer an MS. Oft wird die Krankheit im jungen Erwachsenenalter diagnostiziert. Die Entstehung von MS ist nicht eindeutig bewiesen. Mögliche Ursachen sind unter anderem eine genetische Veranlagung und bestimmte Umwelteinflüsse. Eventuell auch Vitamin-D-Mangel und kindliches Übergewicht. MS ist nicht heilbar, kann aber behandelt werden.

Mangoldgemüse
Mangoldgemüse

Therapie:

  • Ketogene Ernährung: Gemüse, hochwertige Öle, Nüsse, Samen. Täglich fettreiche Eiweißlieferanten: Fleisch, Fisch, Geflügel, Eier, fettreiche Milch, fettreiche Milchprodukte, Omega-3-Fettsäuren.
  • Möglichst keine Kohlenhydrate.
  • Physio-/Ergotherapie, logopädische Hilfe
  • Psychotherapie
  • Alternative Methoden: Akupunktur, Homöopathie, anthroposophische Heilmethoden

Weitere Informationen:

 

Fettleber

Die Fettleber ist ein häufiges Krankheitsbild. Fast jeder vierte Erwachsene ist von dieser Zivilisationskrankheit betroffen. Besonders stark Übergewichtige, Diabetiker und viele übergewichtige Kinder leiden daran. Ursachen sind meist Übergewicht, Alkoholmissbrauch, Medikamente. Auf Grund von Eiweißmangel können auch schlanke Menschen betroffen sein. Das Risiko für eine Fettleber erhöht sich auch während der Schwangerschaft.

Therapie:

  • Ernährungsumstellung
  • Kein Alkohol
  • Gewichtsreduzierung
  • Eventuell vom Arzt verordnete spezielle Eiweißdrinks
  • Sport!

Weitere Informationen:

 

Achtung: Haftungsausschluss und allgemeiner Hinweis zu medizinischen Themen.