Simplify Your Life

During my Google research of slow living info this morning  I found the website simplify.de (unfortunately only German) by Werner Kuestenmacher, a protestant theologian in Bavaria, who started in 1990 as a freelance writer, cartoonist and speaker.

The cartoon with the seven-stage simplify pyramid reminded me a little bit of my own mess, so I immediately subscribed to the newsletter … and also ordered the book Simplify Your Life by Werner Kuestenmacher and Lothar J. Seiwert.

In the next few weeks I’ll tell you about my self-experiment with the implementation of the tips.  I will keep myself largely to the seven-stage simplify pyramid, but also include other sources, for example, The 7 Secrets of the turtle by Aljosha Long and Ronald Schweppe (unfortunately this book is only available in German), Cut the Clutter by Cynthia Ewer and others.

And now a brief description of the Simplify pyramid:

  • Level 1: Things
    Simplify things on your desk, in your wardrobe, in your apartment, in the garage, in your car – in that order and without separation between private and business utensils.
     
  • Level 2: Finances
    A difficult issue that is more difficult to manage than the chaos at home and in the office. We are talking about cash, account balances, debt, loans, savings, expenses and about mental blocks in dealing with money.
     
  • Level 3: Time
    Organizing the daily 24 hours, in order to get more meaningful free time. Time for your partner, children, friends, bosses, relatives, but also for the daily routines, hobbies, and especially for yourself, time to reflect, recharge your batteries, do nothing.
     
  • Level 4: Health
    Avoid diseases in the long run, achieve a healthy interaction between body and mind, and thus a healthy relationship with your own sexuality, eg. by losing weight, healthy diet, relaxation exercises.
     
  • Level 5: Relationships
    Social relationships can be complicated and often lead to intrigues, disputes, jealousy, bullying. Therefore, it is important to become free for contacts that really enrich.
     
  • Level 6: Partnership
    A partnership does not necessarily exist between spouses or partners; this can also be special friends, relatives, or other important relationships or God for religiously oriented people.
     
  • Level 7: You yourself
    The top of the pyramid. The goal is the realization of your own idea of happiness and fulfillment, the meaning of life.
     

I am looking forward to the result and to your comments.

Literature:

Links of the Week

This time I have to disappoint you … I can only provide German “Slow Living” Links at the moment. But in a short time you may find also English homepages here. So please come back soon.

I wish you a great weekend

Don’t toss it – repair it

Reparatur-Café

We live in a throwaway society. Unfortunately, one of our gadgets is broken and we consider whether it is worth to have it repaired. We quickly decide that a repair is more expensive than buying a new device.  And certainly the item ends up in the waste.  Often enough in household waste, although it is actually e-waste.  Admittedly for many repairs you need a certain expert knowledge and appropriate tools.

One solution for non-amateur crafters: why not ask your friends or neighbours.  And in return offer your expertise.  Sure you can find a bulletin board somewhere in your vicinity, e.g. in the supermarket.

Repair Café

Another positive trend are Repair-Cafés, originally from Holland – initiated by Martine Postma in 2007.  Usually they are organized by local economic agents, volunteers and repair experts; you can bring your defective items to fix them and – most of all – together with the experts.  You receive valuable tips and instructions for making it yourself.

The particular benefit of this project

  • waste prevention
  • environmental protection
  • sustainablility
  • learning
  • knowledge preservation
  • contacts
  • appreciation

The required tools and materials for the repair of furniture, appliances, clothing, toys and bicycles are largely available, e. g. carpentry tools, tools for electrical appliances, sewing accessories.  Having coffee, tea and cake you can now screw, solder, cut, sew.  You may also find interesting books about repair and home improvement on a reading table.  The chance of success is actually the greatest when you bring all the cables, accessory and operating instructions.

Locations

There are now Repair-Cafés in 15 countries worldwide, e. g. the Netherlands, Germany, France, USA, Australia.  Here you will find a list of cafés near you.  By the way, if you want to open your own Repair-Café, you receive a lot of support and information – and all at a very reasonable price.

What do you prefer? Repair it or toss it? Please tell me your experiences?

Get rid of old and odd things

declutter 15 minutes

In a previous post I have already written about decluttering.  Our goal is to lead a “simpler” life with more time for ourselves and our loved ones.

Let us look around.  Do the files pile up on your desk? What is the appearance of your apartment?  The garden? You hope to get a better overview? Too many knick-knacks in the way.  The stunted plant on the windowsill is not motivating, too.  Piles of documents, all waiting to be read.  And then the kitchen, the wardrobe, the nursery, the garage, the attic …  Pretty much ballast …  And this ballast blocks us.

The first important discovery:  Clutter cannot be organised.

 

With what do we start?

Everything visible.

 

Where do we start?

Everyone needs to find out for oneself.  I start in the living room and work my way from there to the other rooms. The garden follows later.  It’s winter now … (At least in the Northern Hemisphere)

 

How do we start?

I set a timer to 15 minutes, take a garbage bag and a box or more bags and grab a duster and a damp cloth.  Anything can be done for 15 minutes.  For each part, I now have to make a tough decision:

  • waste or not repairable – into the garbage bag
  • seasonal items – in a labelled box
  • keep it – clean it

    I take pictures of valuable items and file them with purchase date and price (ideally with proof of purchase) in an inventory folder

  • items with emotional value that don’t match the furnishings – in a labelled box
  • items that you do not like, but are too good or too valuable for waste – give away or sell

    Books to the public library, dresses for second-hand shop, tableware and decoration to the flea market

You will see, in 15 minutes you can accomplish a lot.  And now have fun with decluttering.  Important: throw the filled garbage bag immediately in the bin!

And now we repeat this every day!

How do you declutter?  Do you have any other suggestions? Just write me.  The best ideas will be published here?

Slow Living

Zeit zum Entschleunigen

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_excludeUntranslatedPosts() expected to be a reference, value given in /homepages/46/d19846360/htdocs/SlowLiving/blog/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /homepages/46/d19846360/htdocs/SlowLiving/blog/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286

“Slow Living means structuring your life around meaning and fulfillment. Similar to “voluntary simplicity” and “downshifting,” it emphasizes a less-is-more approach, focusing on the quality of your life. …  Slow Living addresses the desire to lead a more balanced life and to pursue a more holistic sense of well-being in the fullest sense of the word.”

(Wikipedia)

Live a full life, give the “spent” time sense and meaning – Desires, that come into everybody’s mind more or less,  whose implementation,  however,  get stuck in the daily “rat race” all to often, the restless and mostly meaningless race in a hamster wheel.

Deciding to immediately bring more quality to the everyday activities and life in general  through  deceleration is a first step, no more. Unfortunately the all that willingly used proverb “The first step is always the hardest” doesn’t really apply, but the  much more accurate “Starting is easy, insisting is art”.

Why this blog? 

“Slow Living” is intended to be a continuing source of information. With a variety of suggestions and arguments he tries to replace the kick in the ass;  the kick that shall assist probably the most important aspect of decelerating your life:  sustainability, the long-term persistence of your motivation.

So stay tuned!

Goal for all of us is a fulfilling life: not waiver in itself, but the proliferation of the joy of life!

That does not mean a “Back to the Middle Ages” attitude, a mere simplification in terms of “no car, no tv in the home – voila life is decelerated.” Detailed information and consequent decisions will yield a reasonable way.

No area of personal and social, and presumably also of political life will remain unconsidered, neither in the short term, nor in the context of sustainable, long-term perspective.

We want to make you fit for the many small and big decisions in the field of tension between renunciation and supersaturation, quantity and quality, expenses and results – all in a fun way – you can find your individual “right” pleasure somewhere in the middle.

Slow Living
Slow Living – Time for you, time for friends

We are most excited to see in what way this blog will evolve, not least through the fact that our daily work on it will take influence on the progress of our own lives.  We want you to contribute in many different ways.  So please feel encouraged.

Do what you gives pleasure and enjoy what you do!

Simplify Your Life

Heute morgen bin ich über die Google-Suche auf der Homepage simplify.de von Werner Tiki Küstenmacher gelandet, einem evangelischen Theologen in Bayern, der sich 1990 als Autor, Karikaturist und Redner selbstständig gemacht hat.

Die Karikatur mit der siebenstufigen Simplify-Pyramide hat mich doch ein wenig an mein eigenes  Chaos erinnert, also habe ich umgehend den Newsletter abonniert … und auch gleich noch das Buch Simplify Your Life von Werner Tiki Küstenmacher und Lothar J. Seiwert bestellt.

In den nächsten Wochen werde ich Euch von meinem Selbstversuch bei der Umsetzung der Tipps berichten. Ich werde mich dabei weitgehend an die siebenstufige Simplify-Pyramide halten, aber auch andere Quellen einbeziehen, z. B. Die 7 Geheimnisse der Schildkröte von Aljoscha Long und Ronald Schweppe, Nie wieder Chaos! von Cynthia Ewer und andere.

Hier nun eine kurze Beschreibung der Simplify-Pyramide:

  • Stufe 1: Sachen
    Vereinfachen von Dingen auf dem Schreibtisch, im Kleiderschrank, in der Wohnung, in der Garage, im Auto – in dieser Reihenfolge und ohne Trennung zwischen privaten Utensilien und denen am Arbeitsplatz.
     
  • Stufe 2: Finanzen
    Ein schwieriges Thema, das oft schwieriger zu bewältigen ist, als das Chaos in Wohnung und Büro. Es geht hier um Bargeld, Kontostände, Schulden, Darlehen, Ersparnisse, Ausgaben und um mentale Blockaden im Umgang mit Geld.
     
  • Stufe 3: Zeit
    Ordnung bringen in 24 Stunden, damit auch sinnvolle freie Zeit übrig ist. Zeit für Partner, Kinder, Freunde, Chefs, Verwandte, aber auch für die tägliche Routine, Hobbys und vor allem für sich, Zeit zum Nachdenken, Energie tanken, Nichtstun.
     
  • Stufe 4: Gesundheit
    Krankheiten langfristig vermeiden, ein gesundes Miteinander von Körper und Geist und damit auch ein gesundes Verhältnis zur eigenen Sexualität erreichen, z. B. durch Abnehmen, gesunde Ernährung, Entspannungsübungen.
     
  • Stufe 5: Beziehungen
    Soziale Beziehungen können kompliziert sein und führen nicht selten zu Intrigen, Streit, Neid, Mobbing. Deshalb ist es wichtig frei zu werden für Kontakte, die wirklich bereichern.
     
  • Stufe 6: Partnerschaft
    Eine Partnerschaft muss nicht zwingend zwischen Ehepartnern oder Lebensgefährten bestehen; das können auch besondere Freunde, Verwandte oder andere wichtige Beziehungen oder für religiös orientierte Menschen Gott sein.
     
  • Stufe 7: Sie selbst
    Die Spitze der Pyramide. Ziel ist die Verwirklichung der eigenen Vorstellung von Glück und Erfüllung, der Sinn des Lebens.
     

Ich bin schon gespannt auf das Ergebnis und auf Eure Kommentare.

Literatur:

Links der Woche

Vielleicht habt Ihr ja am Wochenende ein bisschen Zeit zum lesen. Dafür habe ich mal eine kleine Liste interessanter Links zum Thema Entschleunigung zusammengetragen.

Ich wünsche Euch ein schönes Wochenende und viel Spaß beim Lesen 🙂

  1. Entschleunigung, entschleunigen
    Eine sehr informative Website zum Thema mit vielen Tipps.
  2. Fritz Reheis
    Leseproben aus den Veröffentlichungen von Fritz Reheis, einem Philosophen „unserer Zeit“
  3. Slow Food Deutschland
    Bewusst genießen und die Ess- und Trinkkultur pflegen. Slow Food ist eine internationale Bewegung, die sich dafür einsetzt, dass alle Menschen Zugang zu Nahrung haben, die ihr eigenes Wohlergehen und das der Produzenten und der Umwelt erhält.
  4. Projekt: Gesund leben
    Die Gesundheitswissenschaftlerin Hannah Frey gibt Tipps zu Ernährung, Entspannung und Bewegung.
  5. Gastland Rheinland-Pfalz – IchZeit: Konzept, Entschleunigung, Wellness – Kurzurlaub
    Wie wäre es mal mit einem entschleunigten Urlaub in Deutschland?

 

 

Reparieren statt wegwerfen

Reparatur-Café

Wir leben in einer Wegwerfgesellschaft. Leider ist mal wieder etwas kaputt gegangen und wir überlegen uns, ob es sich lohnt, es reparieren zu lassen. Schnell beschließen wir, dass eine Reparatur teurer wird als die Anschaffung eines neuen Gerätes. Und schon landet das Teil im Müll. Oft genug im Hausmüll, obwohl es eigentlich Elektroschrott ist. Nun ja, für viele Reparaturen benötigt man zugegebenermaßen eine gewisse Fachkenntnis und entsprechende Werkzeuge.

Eine Lösung für die Nicht-Hobby-Bastler unter uns: fragt doch mal Eure Freunde oder Nachbarn. Und bietet als Gegenleistung Eure Fachkenntnisse an. Sicher hängt irgendwo in Eurer Umgebung ein dafür geeignetes schwarzes Brett, z. B. im Supermarkt.

Reparatur-Café

Ein weiterer positiver Trend, der ursprünglich als Repair-Café aus Holland kam – initiiert 2007 von Martine Postma, sind Reparatur-Cafés. Organisiert von örtlichen Wirtschaftsbüros, ehrenamtlichen Helfern und Reparatur-Experten kann man seine defekten Teile dort wieder in Ordnung bringen und zwar zusammen mit den Experten. Man erhält so wertvolle Tipps und Anleitungen zum Selbermachen.

Der besondere Nutzen dieses Projekts ist

  • Müllvermeidung
  • Umweltschutz
  • Nachhaltigkeit
  • Lernen
  • Erhalt des Wissens
  • Kontakte
  • Wertschätzung

Das benötigte Werkzeug und Material für die Reparatur von Möbeln, Elektrogeräten, Kleidung, Spielwaren und Fahrrädern ist größtenteils vorhanden, z. B. Tischlerwerkzeug, Werkzeug für Elektrogeräte, Nähutensilien. Bei Kaffee, Tee und Kuchen wird nun geschraubt, gelötet, gesägt, genäht. Auf einem Lesetisch findet man interessante Bücher zum Thema Reparatur und Heimwerken. Die Chance auf Erfolg ist übrigens am größten, wenn Ihr alle Kabel, Zubehörteil und Bedienungsanleitungen mitbringt.

Verbreitung der Repair-Cafés

Mittlerweile gibt es Repair-Cafés in 15 Ländern weltweit, z. B. Niederlande, Deutschland, Frankreich, USA, Australien. Hier findet Ihr eine Liste der Cafés in Eurer Nähe. Wer übrigens ein eigenes Repair-Café eröffnen möchte, erhält jede Menge Unterstützung und Information – und das alles zu einem äußerst fairen Preis.

Wie haltet Ihr es denn mit Reparaturen? Lieber was Neues kaufen oder basteln? Schreibt mir doch Eure Erfahrungen?

Platz schaffen

declutter 15 minutes

In einem früheren Beitrag habe ich schon einmal über Entrümpeln geschrieben. Unser Ziel ist, ein „einfacheres“ Leben zu führen mit mehr Zeit für uns und unsere Lieben.

Schauen wir uns doch mal um. Quillt der Schreibtisch über? Wie sieht es in unserer Wohnung aus? Im Garten? Ihr wünscht Euch mehr Überblick? Zuviel Nippes steht im Weg. Die verkümmerte Pflanze auf der Fensterbank wirkt auch nicht motivierend. Stapel von Unterlagen, die alle darauf warten, gelesen zu werden. Und dann noch die Küche, der Kleiderschrank, das Kinderzimmer, die Garage, der Dachboden … Ganz schön viel Ballast … Und dieser Ballast blockiert uns.

Erste wichtige Erkenntnis: Gerümpel lässt sich nicht aufräumen.

 

Womit fangen wir an?

Alles was sichtbar ist.

 

Wo fangen wir an?

Das muss jeder für sich herausfinden. Ich starte im Wohnzimmer und arbeite mich von dort aus in die anderen Räume vor. In den Garten kommen wir später. Ist ja Winter 😉

 

Wie fangen wir an?

Ich stelle einen Timer auf 15 Minuten, lege eine Mülltüte und eine Kiste oder weitere Säcke bereit und greife mir ein Staubtuch und einen feuchten Lappen. 15 Minuten hält man immer durch. Für jedes Teil muss ich nun eine schwere Entscheidung treffen:

  • Müll oder nicht reparierbar – ab in die Mülltüte
  • Saisonartikel – in eine beschriftete Box
  • Behalten – sauber machen
    Wertvolle Gegenstände fotografiere ich und hefte das Bild mit Kaufdatum und Preis (ideal mit Kaufbeleg) in einem Inventar-Ordner ab
  • Dinge mit emotionalem Wert, die aber nicht zur Einrichtung passen – in eine beschriftete Box
  • Gegenstände, die Dir nicht gefallen, aber zu schade oder zu wertvoll für den Müll sind – verschenken oder verkaufen
    Bücher an die Stadtbücherei, Kleider zum Second Hand Laden, Geschirr und Deko zum Flohmarkt

Ihr werdet sehen, in 15 Minuten ist viel zu schaffen. Und jetzt viel Spaß beim Aufräumen. Und ganz wichtig, die Mülltüte kommt umgehend in die Tonne!

Und das wiederholen wir nun täglich!

Wie entrümpelt Ihr? Habt Ihr andere Vorschläge? Schreibt mir doch einfach. Die besten Ideen werden hier veröffentlicht?

Slow Living

Zeit zum Entschleunigen

„Slow Living ist die Entscheidung für ein bewusstes Leben mit dem Ziel, das eigene Wohlergehen und das der Gemeinschaft und der Umwelt zu verbessern. Slow Living berücksichtigt in besonderem Maße die Rolle der Zeit bei der Ausgestaltung der Qualität unseres Lebens.“
(Begriffsdefinition, übertragen a. d. englischsprachigen Wikipedia)

Ein erfülltes Leben führen, der „verbrauchten“ Zeit Sinn und Bedeutung geben – Wünsche, die jedem Menschen mehr oder weniger häufig in den Sinn kommen, deren Umsetzung jedoch nur allzu oft im alltäglichen „Rat Race“ stecken bleibt, dem rastlosen und häufig sinnentleerten Rennen in einem Hamsterrad.

Sich vorzunehmen, ab sofort durch Entschleunigung mehr Qualität in das alltägliche Handeln und das Leben insgesamt zu bringen, ist ein erster Schritt, nicht mehr. Es gilt nämlich leider nicht das so gern verwendete Sprichwort „Aller Anfang ist schwer“, sondern das viel treffendere „Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst“.

Wozu dieser Blog?

„Slow Living“ soll eine fortgesetzte Informationsquelle zu sein. Mit einer Vielzahl von Anregungen und Argumenten versucht er, den Tritt in den Allerwertesten zu ersetzen; den Tritt, der den vielleicht wichtigsten Aspekt beim Entschleunigen Deines Lebens unterstützen soll: die Nachhaltigkeit, das langfristige Fortdauern Deiner Motivation.

Bleib also dran!

Ziel für uns alle ist ein erfülltes Leben: nicht der Verzicht an sich, sondern die Vermehrung der Lebensfreude!

Damit ist nicht eine „Zurück ins Mittelalter“-Haltung gemeint, eine bloße Vereinfachung im Sinne von „kein Auto, kein Bildschirm im Haushalt, schon ist das Leben entschleunigt“. Genaue Informationen und daraus folgende Entscheidungen werden einen angemessenen Weg ergeben.

Kein Bereich des privaten und gesellschaftlichen und vermutlich auch des politischen Lebens wird dabei unberücksichtigt bleiben, weder auf kurze Sicht, noch im Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige, langfristige Perspektive.

Wir möchten Dich auf unterhaltsame Weise fit machen für die vielen kleinen und großen Entscheidungen im Spannungsfeld aus Entsagung und Übersättigung, Quantität und Qualität, Aufwand und Ergebnis – Du findest Deinen individuell „richtigen“ Genuss irgendwo mittendrin.

Slow Living
Slow Living – Zeit für Dich, Zeit für Freunde

Wir sind höchst gespannt, in welcher Weise dieser Blog sich entwickeln wird, nicht zuletzt dadurch, dass unsere tägliche Arbeit mit ihm Einfluss auf den Fortgang unseres eigenen Lebens nimmt. Wir möchten, dass Du auf unterschiedlichste Weise daran mitwirkst. Fühle Dich also ausdrücklich dazu ermuntert.

Mach das, was Dir Vergnügen bereitet und genieße, was Du tust!